Watch as the boy falls from the sky.


As time progresses ever so slowly till the next public hearing for the county’s budget, I have come to the realization that I will get the axe from the library. I am not saying this to be mean to myself or a real Debbie Downer but after speaking with someone from the Admin office during the last Adult Services meeting, my situation as well as other, the outlook is more than saying  it does not look good. It is downright inevitable and I am coming to grips with this.

As mentioned in the earlier entry, the library millage rate has been set and can not be raised. Having said that, if nothing changes between now and September 22, the last public hearing, the cutbacks will go forward. Since I don’t have any right to my L1 position, the bumping process from the higher classification will make it impossible to retain my status as an Intern/Trainee. So, watch this boy as he falls from the sky.

As the Spiderman song goes from the Broadway show, Parker sings about single thread to cross the sky.  Thinking in the same vein, I too will fall but I will not let this destroy me or end my career. I’ve spent the last decade plus acquiring almost three degrees: BSBM, MBA /Marketing and MLIS (almost 3 more classses). When I’m done with the MLIS degree, I will pursue my Doctorate. I made a promise to myself that would happen regardless of my employment situation. Until then, I will spin my web to catch myself from falling. Then I’ll point my web shooter at another site and then start swing back towards my goal. Yes, the metaphor may not work but I will fall with style and I will recover.

Towards the end of the song, Parker is singing, “Believe” over and over again. I know who I am and what I can offer to employers. I’ve been down this road before and managed to become better than before. 

Why do I say this?

Because I believe.

~ by The Monster on August 20, 2011.

One Response to “Watch as the boy falls from the sky.”

  1. […] Watch as the boy falls from the sky. « Page 49. Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "0"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
