I Bet You Missed Me…


It has been over one year since my last entry for this blog. Those who have followed this blog may or may not know, I am finally working…again. I will gladly change the blog tagline, “A Librarian without a Library” in the very near future to something more upbeat. While I am working in a library, I am not exactly working for my previous employer. I can say that door is not closed in my situation. In the meantime, I am very happy where I am and doing very similar things as I used to do and more. I am a Library Administration Assistant for a small academic library which is something I’ve always wanted to do after I got laid off. Taking this long to find work was very hard on my family, my wife and my self-worth. I know we are told to never be defined by a job but honestly, I did not want to do anything else but work in a library. When that did not pan out after several months, I applied for other positions in all capacities and yet nothing ever came of it. Lucky for me, this small university was in need of someone with my background and could start immediately. I am in my third full week of employment. It’s still hard to believe that I’m working.

As for the future of this blog, I do plan to make this more active pursuit once more and talk about issues I come across during school and work. I am still without internet at home as this was one of the luxuries I could not afford. While there was internet access at the public library, there was very little motivation to write about anything library related. With this current position, I have a late schedule but after 6pm, library becomes very quiet and not very busy. This is where I’ve decided to continue my blog while at work to keep my focus on work and school. I am retaking a cataloging class which I barely passed the first time and this go around I want to do better. I will.

On that note, I am going to sign off. Probably the next blog entry I will be discussing RDA (Resource Description and Access) and cataloging issues that I’m crossed with. More later.

~ by The Monster on October 9, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
