Run, Runner!!!!


runnerOne week from tomorrow, I am going to do something beyond anything I’ve ever done. Yes, it’s been a long while since I last wrote an entry on my blog but I’ve been busy; if not busier. Things are progressing great at my library branch which is an outlook on how I get up in the morning. While the commute stinks, I am able to be the same librarian I was way before the layoff ever occurred. I am that person on staff who is reliable, dependable and a go to person when there’s a problem or situation that arises. In the middle of all this, I have still managed to keep up with my half marathon training regiment.

Around a year ago, when the ING Marathon was going on, I decided to walk 13.1 miles. I wasn’t looking to run since I did not have the stamina but walking was something I was accustom to. 3+ hours later, I was in pain, stiff and sore but I did it. I didn’t think about running until my depression sunk in even more in the coming weeks. I had started to C25K (Couch to 5k) app once before but I had to do something with my time since I was not working nor going to school. Doing the app the first time around, I was not exactly physically fit but I was one step closer towards improving my health.

I did C25K a second time and noticed that I was able to hold my own and actually improved on my earlier times. It wasn’t until the end of the 2nd go around, where I noticed I was coming close to the 3 mile mark. At the end of C25K, you are asked to run for 30 minutes straight with a 5 minute warmup and cool down. When I pushed myself, I think in March, I did my first 5k even though it was more than 30 minutes. From that moment on, I was hooked. This is not to say I was a runner from that point on but I was becoming one. From there, I think a month or two, I did a 10k. I started to think  about doing a half marathon and the ING was going to be here I would do this.

Flash forward, next week will be my ultimate test in my phsyical abilities and endurance. While I have come close to running 13.1 miles, I was just short 1/2 a mile, I can see myself at the finish line. Today’s run was fair but then again, I am harder on myself for feeling not as strong or fast in my run as I should be. Then again, I have other things taking up my time and energy so try to juggle so many things has been a challenge.

I am looking foward to completing this challenge that I personally sought for myself and who knows where the future may lie but a full marathon may not be out of the question. Having said this, I have 3 classes left before completing and then I’ll be free to do more agressive training. After a year of rock bottom nothingness, I am happy to be where I am today. I’ll keep you guys posted on my progress this week as far as my training and preparation.

~ by The Monster on January 19, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
