My pre-visual dream


Yesterday, I drove around the ING half marathon route to prepare myself mentally for my upcoming race. I took things easy over the weekend as I did not want to overwork myself; besides I had to deal with homework. Now, the good thing about what I did was know what I needed to do and expect along the race route. Almost right from the beginning, I have a tremendous incline to deal before I can run the race on my time. At mile 3, there is another incline, not a severe, but another point of attack. I have practiced several times to increase my speed at certain times for such an occassion and I’m hoping this will payoff big time.

Last night, I went to bed and dreamt about this course. I literally felt the course running through my head. Along the way, I remembered looking around at the sites à la virtual reality. I know this will help me to run a better race especially when I can visual myself doing that task. Now, having done this, I did not sleep restfully. This is not what I need with only a few days before my big day. My big thing coming up is to get my running music in order. I am looking at several apps to help in this matter and will likely write about it. I’ll keep you posted.

~ by The Monster on January 22, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
