You are part of the rebel alliance and a traitor.


darth_vader_and_princess_leia

Less than a week before my vacation and I still feel… nothing. Now that school has been done for several weeks, I should be looking forward this vacation but I have this feeling of malaise. Over the past couple of weeks, there are been several library rallies to drum up support for the library. I have not been able to go because of when they are scheduled. I do make up library related memes and post them on my Facebook wall which are harmless fun but helps deal with the stress. Nonetheless, it does feel great to be part of this rebel alliance. On the same token, I am also a traitor. What I mean by this, as another colleague pointed out, where was this outrage this support a couple of years ago when we both lost our librarian positions? I feel like a traitor to my cause.

Back in July 2011, I wrote an entry on this blog about the needs of the many. You click here to read it further. Basically, I knew I was going to take the hit months before things were officially confirmed. This fact was more important to be because I did not want my wife to lose her library position. The effects from both of us not working would be immeasurable. I was optimistic that I would find work but as those who follow me socially online will know that things did not pan out so well for almost a year. Zoom back to today, I know I have to take the hit again but I refuse to live in those dark times again.

This does begs the question, shouldn’t I be out there with the other library supporters? There are times to fight and there are times to choose your battles. I will refrain from using my more colorful use my metaphors as of late but I will say this, the needs of the one outweighs the needs of the few or the many. I feel that I went through hell being laid off, jumped through to many hoops to get my job back, and I feel like a fool to have this position taken away from me once more. I need to take care of my needs and make sure I am taken care off. Don’t expect much from me.

I’m done.

~ by The Monster on August 4, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
