The needs of the many – Part 2


kirk spock

Those who have followed this blog over the years will know that I wrote a blog entry entitled, “The needs of the many.” If you want to read or re-read it, click here to do so.

This past Tuesday, September 10, 2013, I delivered my 3 minute speech before the Board of County Commissioners. I used the same opening lines as the title of my blog entry over two years ago. The reason for posting my speech is not so much for vanity but for preservation of this accomplishment. I’ll try to capture the video of my presentation and post it here. While the written speech below was what I delivered, there are a few ad-lib lines not included. Plus, seeing my performance, I believe speaks more than the words I used.

The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few or the one.

Two years ago, I told this to my daughter on the way to her school about the tough economic times we were all facing and how the library system had to layoff staff and reduce service hours.

I was part of those layoffs.

Not that I was ok with that but we all had to make a sacrifice – The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few or the one.

If there was a bright spot in all this, my wife was still working for the library system supporting a family of 4 on a $25,000 as a librarian assistant.

That is barely above federal poverty line

but i was confident that I would find work soon after.

My position was eliminated but I understood it from an economic point of view because I have a bachelor’s degree in business management plus an MBA degree, and at that time an unfinished library degree.

I took me 11 months to find employment.

Two months later, I was reinstated by the library system and this past July, I finished my library degree while working full time.

Despite all these gains, my family and I are still recovering.

Today, almost two years later, I am about to be laid off.. Again.

I and along with 168 library staffers, our needs are many, and they outweigh the needs of the few commissioners or the one Mayor.

Raise the millage.

I deserve better.

My wife deserves better.

My family deserves better.

The Miami Dade Public Library System deserves better.

Miami Dade county deserves better.

Raise the millage.

~ by The Monster on September 13, 2013.

One Response to “The needs of the many – Part 2”

  1. […] Into Darkness; click here to read more about the new Trek movie release on dvd/blu ray.  Click here about my library speech for the Board of County […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
