Dungeons & Dragons in my library… Oh My!!!


This is a post that is long overdue but nonetheless, there will be Dungeons and Dragons in my library. Before I get into the details, I wanted to take a moment to play catch up on this blog. While I have been extremely busy with my Monster Scifi Show blog and podcast, I have pretty much neglected my Page 49 blog for some time but this does not mean I have not been productive in my library branch.

One of the big success in my library is the podcast program with YOUmedia. If you remember, I did a podcast with YOUmedia all the way back in January 2016 right before the grand opening. Click here if you would like to hear that podcast. Flash forward a few months later, we did a couple of podcasts which struggled to get teens at first. When the summer came, we decided to watch movies and then record a podcast on what we watched. The attendance was better but it wasn’t exactly a runaway hit either.

Come the fall, I decided to give a couple of workshop demonstrations on how to record and then edit a real podcast. There were a few that got it and I relied on them to help teach others. Soon, my workshops evolved into actual podcasts which teens would decide on a couple of topics, record the discussion and then one of the YOUmedia mentors edited the program. This seemed to help get more teens involved though I would have liked to see them work the back-end of production.

In late October, I had to take a leave of absence to deal with a shoulder problem. By this time, everyone at YOUmedia carried on with the podcast and bumped up the production value with more equipment and did several video podcasts. I was able to join up with them after the holidays and helped to moderate the podcasts thereafter. A couple of the admins were really pleased with the direction and tone. Soon after, we were able to get a Young Adults author, Ibi Zoboi, to be interviewed by the teens. Below is the video of the interview of Ibi. Please ignore me at the beginning.

Prior to Ibi, I had the pleasure of interviewing A.S.King one-on-one. While we talked on Skype, (audio only  – no face time) doing that interview really helped me to gain more confidence as a podcaster. This really strengthened my belief that interviewing authors for a podcast could work for the library and more importantly, as a library program. And before I forget, click here to listen to my interview with A.S.King. I could not have been more proud of this accomplishment and the teens and the team that helped make this all happen.

Okay, so now that you are you to date, let me talk about my next project: Dungeons and Dragons. Note, I am not the first nor will I be the last librarian to introduce D&D to the library but this will be a first for me. I have limited exposure to D&D but due to the Netflix show Stranger Things, this retro game of imagination had sparked a resurgence back into popular culture. In addition, a dear friend and co-worker introduced me to a show called HarmonQuest. This is a show about playing D&D with animation of the fantasy action taking place. This combination got me to think about the summer reading program and what I could do that would be fun and interesting for the teens. The answer was there: Dungeons & Dragons.

In the coming weeks, I will be writing my thoughts and experiences about putting together this program. I am also planning on doing a podcast with a fellow librarian who had run his own D&D event at his branch. His D&D knowledge is vastly superior to mine and I will be asking him questions along the way. So, I have about 2 1/2 months to prepare for this program. Please check back or subscribe to my podcast on iTunes or Libsyn.

~ by The Monster on March 29, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
